Personal Belief: Short Paper

Posted: March 26, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Listed below are three major beliefs that I take very seriously and cannot recant unless proven by Scripture. These doctrines are not just ones that I simply believe in, which they are those things, but they also impact how I think and how I live on a daily basis. These belief’s affect who I am as a person and my choices I make. If I did not believe in these 3 doctrines (which, there are a whole lot more) I would be making different choices and have different desires than I actually do.

The first doctrine is the belief that Jesus Christ was a real person, that He is God, and died on the Cross for my sins (Isa. 53:8; Isa. 53:6; Luke 24:46). While many today do disagree that Jesus is God (Gen. 2:3; Isa. 9:6; Acts 5:31; Phil. 2:5-9; Heb. 12:2) I must believe what Scripture says to be true and that Scripture is in its unadulterated form. To even claim that Scripture is false or to say it is errant assumes that God is not sovereign (keep reading to see my third doctrine).

The Apostle Paul Himself, even after years of His conversion never ceased to remember what Christ did for Him. Why should I even consider that I should move on past the Cross? The man who wrote 13 books of the Bible was always amazed and still is amazed with Jesus, and if this man, Apostle Paul, who was much wiser than I was amazed by Jesus and tells us to imitate him as He imitates Christ, I should also be blown away by Jesus Christ!

The fact that Jesus died for me (Eph. 5:25-27) and that is a mystery in itself (Rom. 3:12) as I know how sinful my own heart is, and I am saved, let alone what my heart and desires would have been if Jesus had not saved me from myself and if He had not been sanctifying me for Himself. So, being amazed and remembering what Jesus did for me creates a thankful heart and gives me joy and a love for Christ first and a love for others. Because Christ died for me, He is my motivation to fight sin and to put to death my selfish desires.

The second doctrine here is the Word of God. The Word of God is precious to me. “The Word of God is lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path (Psalm 119:105).” God’s Word is inspired; or a more accurate, better handled word, “God-breathed (1 Timothy 3:16). God’s Word or what we call, “the Bible” is God’s written letter or will to us and it contains a lot of information for us. The way to live, the way to find Christ, the way to true joy, etc…I love this book! I want my life to be transformed by the power of this book, or rather the power of God! Luther’s famous quote at the Diet of Worms, “Since your majesty and your Lordships ask for a plain answer, I will give you one without either horns or teeth. Unless I am convicted by Scripture or by right reason (for I trust neither in popes nor in councils, since they have often erred and contradicted themselves)–unless I am thus convinced, I am bound by the texts of the Bible, my conscience is captive to the Word of God, I neither can nor will recant anything, since it is neither right nor safe to act against conscience. God help me. Amen (Bold mine).”

The Word of God is active, it is not a dead book (Heb 4:12)! This book is alive and it changes me. The Holy Spirit (God) is in me and helps me understand the Bible more fully otherwise I would think the Bible and Christians were foolish but God has opened my eyes to see the Truth and that alone is reason for rejoicing!

The Bible is my guide and my joy, without it, I’d be at a loss. Recently, Scripture memorization has really been hitting me and I love memorizing the Bible. It is a weapon (Eph. 6) we have to fight against our flesh and against the Devil.

The Bible does affect my choices and desires also. Without it, I would not be seeking Jesus and not keeping Jesus at the center of my mind like I stated above. My life would be totally and completely different than it is today. I would not know God and my heart would most likely be closed to any religious talk. The Bible is my guide, my joy, and I must test everything I hear to the Word of God and base my beliefs on it and it alone.

The Sovereignty of God is one of my most treasured doctrines and in this paper I will use it in its general sense but in a more specific way of breaking down the doctrine could be summarized into three different aspects of God’s sovereignty. The first being decrees of God, the second being the providence of God, and the third as the sovereignty of God. I am going to quote theologian Wayne Grudem to get an accurate description of what I mean when I say the sovereignty of God, and from his book, Systematic Theology, he writes, “God is continually involved with all created things in such a way that he (1) keeps them existing and maintaining the properties with which he created them; (2) cooperates with created things in every action, directing their distinctive properties to cause them to act as they do; and (3) directs them to fulfill his purposes (Grudem 315).”

While Wayne Grudem spends about 46 pages on this very important doctrine and crucial to my own life, I am not able to do that at this time. Grudem spends pages and includes tons of scripture references and through Scripture and logic has really hit home for me and I can rest assured that God is in complete control at all times (Heb. 1:3; 1 Cor. 1:17; Psalm 16:33). The Apostle Paul spends specifically a whole chapter dedicated to this one aspect of God’s character (Rom. 9). God clearly states that what happens is sovereignty controlled by His good pleasure (Rom. 9:14-18). We have been created to glorify Him, and this truth nullifies any argument I may try to throw back at God (Rom. 9:19-23). God is in complete control at all times and in every situation.

If you read the book of Job, you can see how God is sovereignty in control of Job’s hardships and how it was used to help Job. So, I rest assured through my struggles, when my family went through difficulties, when I was being spiritually oppressed, when I keep sinning over and over again, I know that God is good and is in control (even when I don’t feel like it) (Rom. 9). I also know that God won’t leave me (Heb 13:5; Rom. 8:31-37). God is there for me. This gives me reason to pray. If God was not in control, what point or purpose would pray serve? None, I am convinced. Why? Because God would cease being God, because it would go against Scripture and the very character and nature of God would be void. I do indeed rest assured in Christ that He is in control of my life now and forever and will do whatever it takes to make me like Him and I have joy in that fact (Rev. 19:6-8).

As I hope I have clearly pointed out just three doctrines that have impacted my life and are taught in Scripture and that have proven themselves to be true by my experience and the path that God has sovereignty brought me to. Experience alone would not make these doctrines true, but by Scripture alone I rest in Christ and in His character! I cannot deny these truths as they are absolute and have played a vital role in my understanding on the nature of Jesus Christ, the God-man!

Works Cited:

Grudem, Wayne A. Systematic Theology : An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1995.

Comments
  1. Alexander Munos says:

    Good post Justin! Keep em comin!

  2. tdurey says:

    Are you going to write more?!

Leave a Reply

